As It Is

As ever, I am blessed
by this country. As I
damn this moment, I
resurrect one that never
existed. As a wheel,
a cog, I am integral.
As a misshapen wheel,
a crooked cog, I
have been forced to 
work. As
I am crushing, as I crush it, 
as I am crushed I am
able to rationalize
my fault.  As I live,
I can breathe. As I am made
safe, I breathe with lungs
not my own.  As I dangle
over pits and fires, I am
daredeviltry of a prescribed 
movie. As I stunt, I
fall short. As a wound,
I mostly just bleed. As a man,
I am thus drained. As ever, 
I am blessed and healed simply
by dint of all I was born to
and no more than that as long
as I let that be. As it is, I let it be.
As it is 
I am ashamed unto death
but survive by

whispering, wait
for your moment. As it is,
that is all I have ever done:
wait.

About Tony Brown

A poet with a history in slam, lots of publications; my personal poetry and a little bit of daily life and opinions. Read the page called "About..." for the details. View all posts by Tony Brown

2 responses to “As It Is

  • Eileen

    wow. Resonates. Had a Jungian dream….on a boat with my husband. We are in the dining room and they bring us a lot of appetizers one after another. My husband eats them happily, while I wait for the main course. At some point I realize there is not going to be a main course. There’s more, but I’ve gotten better about living in the present moment and making the most of it, however insignificant it may seem to idealistic me.

Leave a Reply

