Asking For A Friend

1.
If you own a switchblade,
that iconic weapon of despair,
are you honor bound
to use it 
when you suicide?

2.
Would pills
or other medications
be more sensible
or potentially easier
on the survivors?

3.
How much are you liable
for what arguments for and against
self-harm you inflicted upon
a friend before you acted?

4.
Does any of this feel like more
than a social media art project?
Does anything posted online
move you anymore?

5.
Don’t you wish right now
you’d never breathed at all?

About Tony Brown

A poet with a history in slam, lots of publications; my personal poetry and a little bit of daily life and opinions. Read the page called "About..." for the details. View all posts by Tony Brown

4 responses to “Asking For A Friend

  • 1wanderingtruthseeker

    Knifes hurt, pills are unreliable. I’ve tried head on collision and I’m not brave enough to shot myself. I have found out that each and every one of us are put here at this time and this place for a reason and no matter how bad you want to get off the merry-go-round, you can’t. God will not let you go until you have completed the job we have to do. I know you don’t want to cause yourself anymore pain. It’s bad enough as it is. You need some meds and I’m not being mean. I know where you are. It will get better. Somehow. Now, you have to understand there are two ways to go on the merry-go-round. Sitting proud atop your mount or lay down and be dragged but it’s not stopping. God bless you even if you don’t believe in him.

    • Tony Brown

      It is very dangerous to assume that what a writer puts into a poem is a cry for personal help, or even reflective of an emotion they currently have. I don’t write that way; at my advanced age I’ve taken care of myself through a long series of illnesses and episodes with therapy, meds, and other forms of care. 57 years on the planet and still here. Planning on keeping it that way for a while yet.

      While I appreciate your concern, please be advised that I do NOT write autobiographically in a direct sense, EVER. Adolescent cries from the soul are not my stock in trade and never have been, even when I was an adolescent. I don’t need diagnosis or care. Please don’t do it again.

      • 1wanderingtruthseeker

        If it hurts enough to write down, I figured it was true. I’m not an adolescent. I am as old as you and have been thur so much so I’ve seen much of the world that is wrong. You seem to be very touchy about possibly needing help. Everyone needs help in their lifetime and if you can’t see that I feel sorry for you. Cries from the soul appears to be out of your understanding and possible don’t even believe people have souls. I had cried out for the Lord to take the burden of my son hanging himself off my shoulders because I couldn’t bear it or to bury my son, so take your poem and shove it up your ass. I’m blocking you.

      • Tony Brown

        I’m sorry about your son.

        In a subsequent post, I pointed out why I wrote this poem and others like it by indicating that it was “true,” but not current. That I don’t write about experiences in the moment, but only later when I can process it. I am sorry if you think I am deflecting; I can only assure you that I am not, but I reaffirm that this poem does NOT represent a current crisis. If you see this, I thank you once again for your concern for my well-being. IF you don’t…well…

Leave a Reply

