If You Have To Ask

There are people who think
it
is one thing and other expressions of 
it
don’t matter.

Some would seek to bind
it
by law or custom, some desire the death of those for whom
it
is defined differently.

Some can talk about
it
endlessly, saying
it
deserves endless talk, all agree
it
takes a village to make
it
happen.  

Did we sell
it
out to save our systems the effort of living
it?
Is there any reason to maintain 
it?
Do we need 
it?

I can only take processing 
it
so far. I can only discuss
it
for so long.  I grew up in a swamp of confusion about
it.
I live in a jungle of worrying about
it.
Was my divorce from the magic of
it
required for me to get this far? 

I can’t take
it
any place 
it
hasn’t been already, so I will leave 
it
here and walk away, a solitary sad dancer;
it
defeats me by its singularity.

That’s how
it
wins —
it
always wins by default.

About Tony Brown

A poet with a history in slam, lots of publications; my personal poetry and a little bit of daily life and opinions. Read the page called "About..." for the details. View all posts by Tony Brown

One response to “If You Have To Ask

  • Eileen

    seems to me life is like a puzzle
    where we each only get one piece.
    but rather than put our pieces together,
    particularly the ones we can’t see
    how to fit together with our own,
    we create a whole imaginary picture
    tidily fitting with our one piece
    but totally distorting the picture
    all our pieces could complete.
    that’s why I keep odd shaped
    puzzle pieces in an open file
    for when their place shows up.

Leave a Reply

