Yankee Doodle

Originally posted 5/30/2011.

Watching the parade
I at once (somewhat
unfairly) distrust

the clergyman
walking amongst 
the children,

the admiral
speaking of sacrifice 
from the podium,

the policeman 
approaching
the kids

holding
the Puerto Rican flag
on the sidelines,

the politician waving
and shaking hands
along the route.

I’m wrong to suspect automatically
that nothing is what it seems,
but after all

this is 
an all-American holiday, and I’m
a Yankee Doodle Dandy,

Yankee Doodle do or die.  I grew up
with an erratic Uncle Sam and
I wasn’t born yesterday. Certainly

I’m wrong
to automatically suspect
anyone of anything but

isn’t the larger wrong 
how my mistrust has so often been 
so well founded,

cheapening and weakening
any chance at an honest
Yankee Doodle joy?

About Tony Brown

A poet with a history in slam, lots of publications; my personal poetry and a little bit of daily life and opinions. Read the page called "About..." for the details. View all posts by Tony Brown

Comments are disabled.

