Pure Sound (revised)

heavy revision to poem from earlier today…

If I were a pure sound
I’d be low hum in the concert hall
before the first note is struck, 

sound of 
a rung bell 
fading;

enough presence
to make myself known
without intruding,

enough uncertainty
that one could argue 
for hours if I should be

considered
part of the Music.
If I were pure sound

I’d insinuate, whisper,
murmur. I would
barely be there

simply so I could
stay with you, 

right in the ridge of your ear,

a tone
almost unnoticed
behind daily din;

disappearing
at the moment 
you fell asleep

as I prayed, sotto voce, 
to be permitted to pulse on 
in your dreams.

About Tony Brown

A poet with a history in slam, lots of publications; my personal poetry and a little bit of daily life and opinions. Read the page called "About..." for the details. View all posts by Tony Brown

Comments are disabled.

