Pipe Music

My daddy used to
ride a motorcycle
long ago. Put it away
before I could get 
enamored of it but
I knew and loved that
pipe music
almost before I could
speak. 

Pulled it
out again
only after he retired,
thinking, I guess,

I was safe enough
by then from
two-wheeled lust
for him to throw a leg over,
get back on. Later his hips

messed up even that
short run for freedom, 
and the bike was sold

before I could speak up for it —

now, I’ve never owned a road bike
and only ridden small ones a few times
in the woods and then only
when my daddy wasn’t around

but somehow

I dance to pipe music more these days

and somewhere in the dark 
beyond my father’s eventual

departure, I can see myself
throwing a leg over
something big and loud and
noisy and all mine

before my own bones tell me no,
before I become
deadened to that rough skirling
clatter,

before I forget him completely.

About Tony Brown

A poet with a history in slam, lots of publications; my personal poetry and a little bit of daily life and opinions. Read the page called "About..." for the details. View all posts by Tony Brown

7 responses to “Pipe Music

