Descent

Descent is
a word for 
downfall, as in

I am of 
mixed
descent, as in

I am descended
from and thus
am no longer

a part of.  
I’ve fallen from
and landed below.

My current name
was pasted upon me
to cover up

whatever name 
slipped off
during my

descent.
I do answer to it:
a sound

of hard landing
in a place I’ve grown 
to recognize though

it never feels like home,
which some suggest
is better considering

how much hate
is attached to those
old names. Better, they say,

to have landed
and be renamed
as if I’d fallen

naked and new
and unconnected,
though I am not.

I don’t feel better
for anonymity and
erasure, considering

what distance I’ve fallen 
to get here and how
broken I was upon impact.

It’s my descent
we’re speaking of.
I’d like to know

what the heights
I fell from 
are like and I’d like

to think that someone
up there would know me
if I somehow returned,

could call me by name,
could help me find
my way back

to who I once was.

About Tony Brown

A poet with a history in slam, lots of publications; my personal poetry and a little bit of daily life and opinions. Read the page called "About..." for the details. View all posts by Tony Brown

One response to “Descent

  • lostinmist

    Downfall for me is a telepathic slave revolt two hundred million galaxies or universes but now we may not be safe. And someone killed my friends in 2008 and showed me the evidence I think it a good think though. But now we may have to dust the planet to remain safe and dream telepathy and witchcraft and anarchist philosophy to remain safe and my computers act strange now

