The Ceiling Called God

When I was young,
God lived in buildings. 
We heard He was everywhere
but we knew his home address
was down the street,  just past 
the market.  

Now I think God is a building.  
No walls, no floor, just a ceiling
as high as one can imagine. 
Every door you can find, marked or not,
is an illusion that one must work with
to find the path to lead into God. 

Some tell me I’m not right
or I’m downright wrong
as they sneer about the whole notion
of The Ceiling Called God; no matter.
There’s infinite room
for all of them
under those rafters

when there are no walls to divide us, 
when there’s no floor upon which 
to trample each other as we rise
toward a great height 
we will never touch.
God The Ceiling
is always out of reach,

doesn’t know what we’re up to, 
doesn’t care. It hangs over us
without fussing and war and struggle,
with no gender, no creed, no race,
not even a face. Serene in its indifference
to those things, the Ceiling Called God
does its job and assumes we
must be doing the same.

About Tony Brown

A poet with a history in slam, lots of publications; my personal poetry and a little bit of daily life and opinions. Read the page called "About..." for the details. View all posts by Tony Brown

One response to “The Ceiling Called God

  • Eileen

    Big assumption! I like it. Anything worth calling God is way beyond my comprehension. I tend to consider it a creative force that is in all of us, but is greater than the sum of our parts. But that’s just obviously inadequate and a silly pretension that I have even the slightest clue.

    That’s why I relate to Jesus, who really does seem to “get it.” I’m a relational kind of person, so this particular relationship works for me.
    I can follow the way Jesus grew in understanding, struggled to overcome his fear, and when he failed lashed out at his best friend, let foreigners without any credentials expand his view of family from Jews to humanity, accepted power for others, but rejected power over others, felt total failure, abandonment and disillusion, but made a leap of faith in the face of overwhelming evidence against it, and overcame the limits of death by accepting it.

    Worth testing to see if his way can work for me.

