Hurricane And Tornado

Hurricane plodding on slowly,
snarling threats all the way
as stunned clouds open a lead
on it, race on ahead of it;

Tornado, that rabid dog
of a blowdown, breaking up
with sane weather
to fly along and bite all;

the weather gods
are not always
the gentlest of creatures
and they have ruled

longer than we have been 
challenging them
and longer than we have even
been ourselves.

I place my faith in them 
and them alone
for my understanding of
where we are going.

About Tony Brown

A poet with a history in slam, lots of publications; my personal poetry and a little bit of daily life and opinions. Read the page called "About..." for the details. View all posts by Tony Brown

3 responses to “Hurricane And Tornado

  • Eileen

    Love this: Tornado, that rabid dog of a blow down, breaking up with sane weather….Great description..

    Some months ago in Oklahoma City there were both a tornado and an earthquake on the same day in the same area. Run for your lives people!!!

  • Madelaine Bowman

    Very apt form and metre for a poem about stormy weather 🙂 x x x

  • itsmeludo

    Hi, this is fantastic! I love your posts! Btw, sorry to disturb you, I’m new to WP do you think you could check out my blog and leave a comment. I’d love some help from someone more experienced as you! Keep it up! 🙂

