Falling Off A Chair

I was born
sitting at a table
I knew was not
my true place.

I learned to speak, then to
speak poems,
and the first time

I made a promise
to use all that
on behalf of One True Voice
I felt myself ascending
to the moment of balance

when you tip a chair back 
on two legs and it doesn’t quite
fall but you’re hanging there
waiting.  The first time 
I was able to deliver 
upon such a promise,
I felt myself falling

and though I knew
the end would cause pain

and blood would be shed
it was alright
because I also knew
it would not kill me
and after that 
I would never
have to sit at that table again.

About Tony Brown

A poet with a history in slam, lots of publications; my personal poetry and a little bit of daily life and opinions. Read the page called "About..." for the details. View all posts by Tony Brown

2 responses to “Falling Off A Chair

