Crime Scene With Mayo

I’m hungry
and the cat
wants something
both of us can enjoy.
I’m about ready.
Let’s share across the species,
shall we? I’ll open a can of tuna
and she can lick the sides 
when I’m done.
Never mind dolphins, 
sea turtles, anything else caught 
among the tuna haul: the cat and I
are dining together tonight
as only we unnaturally can
in a house miles and miles 
from the sea,
her waiting impatiently 
for my casual appetite
to lead her into 
anti-ecological temptation
and I can’t help feeling guilty
for turning her into 
an unwitting accomplice
to the murder of the world.

About Tony Brown

A poet with a history in slam, lots of publications; my personal poetry and a little bit of daily life and opinions. Read the page called "About..." for the details. View all posts by Tony Brown

Comments are disabled.

