Sovereign Animals

A world full of 

sovereign animals
so tired of us
using them,

so tired of us
making them into symbols,
giving them our emotions,
making them into
shadow humans. They’re
so tired of us. Hell,
I’m

so tired of us,

tired of not being
my own sovereign animal,

so tired of the urge to paint
my meaning onto Others
without their permission.

I struggle with knowing
every avenue that begins within
and can be traveled
into the farthest distance
needs no hawk
soaring on ahead,
can be followed 
without my needing 
the soundtrack
of a lion’s heart.
I was so comfortable
on the mattress of metaphor
and now I have to wake up
and go alone,
companion-free,

into the freshly silent night.

About Tony Brown

A poet with a history in slam, lots of publications; my personal poetry and a little bit of daily life and opinions. Read the page called "About..." for the details. View all posts by Tony Brown

Comments are disabled.

