A Little Cup Of Coffee

Originally posted 4/12/2010.

A little cup of coffee,
hot, black and unadorned,
would be good right now.

Now and then I’ll take a little milk
to ease it down, but not today; and I’ll never
use sweetener — no, not at all,

because I like it bitter and I like the heat.
I like the way it stains my teeth
so my smile’s not as happy-kid bright.

I like how it opens my eyes
to the day
as it has been made.

God may trouble the waters yet
and if so I’ll have to wade them;
that little cup of coffee will help me go.

A little cup of coffee now.
Perhaps another later, and then another,
depending on how deep and swift the water;

a little something to remind me
that the sweet life
is not the only one worth living.

 

About Tony Brown

A poet with a history in slam, lots of publications; my personal poetry and a little bit of daily life and opinions. Read the page called "About..." for the details. View all posts by Tony Brown

One response to “A Little Cup Of Coffee

